A fresh new start

So here we are, a fresh new start, a new theme for a new year. I’ve decided to start off the blog once more now that I have a lot more time on my hands. Expect a lot more from me than before.

So where was I the past year or so?

Well, I honestly don’t know where to start. My grandma suddenly got quite sick.

One day, out of the blue, she started falling asleep on the couch in the living room. My mum tried to wake her up and tell her to go sleep in bed. She kept insisting that she wasn’t tired, which seemed kind of weird. Eventually though, we got her to go to bed. We were worried about her, but she laughed and said she was just acting spoiled. Honestly, we thought nothing of it.

The next morning we woke up and found her sitting on the edge of a crooked chair in the balcony, her clothes soaked in urine. She had no idea how she got there. I tried to get her to get up and sit inside on a normal chair. She refused. She simply refused. After about half an hour of trying to convince her to move, she tried to, but couldn’t. It’s really as simple as that. It’s almost as if only one of either her brain or her motor skills would work at once. In a panic, I tried lifting her up, but that was no easy task. One thing made it even harder when she called me by my mom’s name. I quickly called my uncle, who happened to be a doctor, and explained the situation. My heart sank when I heard him say the words “You have to call an ambulance immediately”. It’s almost as if he’d said it in slow-motion. That short sentence he said felt like it had taken an eternity to utter. It took me all of a whole second to quite get a grasp on the reality waiting before me. In a fit of panic, my mom quickly called the ambulance, and they were here. It’s strange how that sentence took almost forever to hear, but everything else felt like it was moving much faster; a little too fast.

Three paramedics arrived and came in, asked us a few questions about her medical history, and asked my grandma two questions: what her name was, to which she replied correctly; and where she was, to which she said Al-Fayoum. Al-Fayoum! We were in Cairo! She had grown up in Al-Fayoum, but how could she not know where we were? Did this sudden state of dementia take her back in time? Or was it simply a wrong answer? All I know was that the paramedic said that she was in the early stages of a coma and that we had to get her to a hospital right now. It took all three paramedics and I to be able to lift her up and put her in this chair sort of thing to get her down the stairs. They had to tie her down to it because she was trying to fight them off. The imagery doesn’t need to be described. A few tears ran down my face as it all happened.

The speed of it all had astounded me. It felt like time had decided to speed up simply to make things harder on us. Time was the one thing we needed and the one thing we didn’t have. So several ambulance rides and two hospitals later, she was settled. She lied there on the hospital bed, her immediate family around her, all wondering what would happen next. My sister was sick with a very bad flu, my mom hadn’t eaten all day and I hadn’t eaten from the day before. I had to take care of every one of them too. We were all exhausted, but we were all thankful that she’d been taken good care of, and that she was receiving the treatment she needed.

Several months later, she’s much better again. It took very long for her to feel better, but it finally seemed like time was on our side again. I didn’t know which God I should thank, so I thanked them all. Faith is a strong gift that unfortunately I haven’t been blessed with. All I know is that I’m extremely thankful.

Leave a Reply

